Daily Archives: December 10, 2013

That’s All Folks

The end is finally here! This semester, I can honestly say I have grown as a person, as a writer, and as a student. It has been a trying semester but as the saying goes “pressure makes diamonds”. With that being said, I am just days away from walking across the stage, becoming a Western Illinois University graduate like many of you.

My internship with Alumni Programs was such a blessing. When I applied and had my interview last spring, I remember thinking, “I probably won’t even get it.” Now months later, not only did I get it, but I learned a great deal. One of the biggest lessons learned was punctuality. Being on time when showing up at the Alumni House or for interviews, or even being early, not only shows dedication but seriousness.

The ladies at the Alumni House were great! There was always something to laugh at, or some sort of excitement going on within the house. Whether they know it or not, the staff taught me workplace conduct. This experience was held in a professional setting and I have never really had that. So being in this setting four days a week, I picked up on some of the dos and don’ts of a professional environment rather quickly.

My supervisor Amanda Shoemaker became more of a mentor to me over the course of the semester. We worked closely together, and right away I valued her opinions and constructive feedback. Listening to her wisdom not only helped my writing for this internship, but it also helped my writing with the Western Courier, and for my regular coursework papers.

Over the course of the semester, I had the opportunity to interview so many people across campus. My biggest realization was that the faculty staff and administration whole-heartedly care about WIU students. Every interview I conducted, I was met with such warmth and generosity. Interviewing, something I was a bit intimidated with at first, became easier because the interviewees were always so welcoming.

Now that the semester is over, and my internship has come to a close, I am starting a new chapter of my life. True adulthood and independence are my goals. Like most graduates, I am beginning to search for jobs. I wish to continue in the journalism field and continue to improve my writing skills. Hopefully, within the next few years, you will be reading my writing in the Chicago Sun Times, or in a mainstream magazine or newspaper.

So this is my final goodbye; it has been my pleasure to keep you updated and informed about the campus that you once called home. Now it’s my turn to look forward to reading the blogs written by the next intern in order to keep up-to-date on everything WIU. I definitely bleed purple and gold; I’m a Leatherneck for life!